As a regulatory body for Nursing and Midwifery, the Nursing Council is the vanguard for quality Nursing Education by ensuring that Nursing and Midwifery personnel are competently educated and trained to deliver Professional Health Care.


Mission of the Karnataka Nursing Council:-

–         Maintain uniform standard of Nursing Education.

–         Provide the registration for entry in to the practice.

–         Be an open, transparent, responsible and accountable organization.

Function of the Karnataka Nursing Council:-

1. Registration :
  • Registration of qualified candidates to practice.
  • Verification of Registration Certificates issued from the council whenever there is a request from any employer across the world. The documents communicated is cross checked with the existing records for authenticity.
  • Renewal of previously registered candidates with the council.
2. Examinations and award Diploma :
  • The Council is an approved Examination body for the Examinations for Diploma ANM, Diploma GNM and Post Basic Diploma Nursing Courses.
  • The Council conducts the examinations.
3. Approval and Supervision of Institutions :
  • The Council conducts inspections to verify the teaching, learning facilities as well as programme conduction at Nursing Educational institutions.
4. Look into the complaint against nurses :
  • The Council takes disciplinary actions against the nurses found to be observing unethical behavioral or mal practice.
5. CNE :
  • Organization of continuing Education Programme for nursing professionals.
  • Award credit hours for CNE Programmes organized by Education institution and hospitals for the purpose of renewal of Registration.

Act/Rules of Karnataka Nursing Council:-


Contact :-Address of the Karnataka Nursing Council:-

  • 71, Nightingale Towers ‘A’ Street 6th Cross A.R. Extension,
    near Movieland Theater, Gandhinagar, Bangalore – 560009.

Email: [email protected]

Nursing Councils of India:-

1Indian Nursing Council .2Rajasthan Nursing Council .
3Gujarat Nursing Council .4West Bengal Nursing Council .
5ODISHA Nursing COUNCIL .6Tamilnadu Nursing Council .
7Maharashtra Nursing Council .8Kerala Nursing Council .
9Hariyana Nursing Council .10Karnataka Nursing Council .
11AndhraPradesh Nursing Council .12Tripura Nursing Council .
13Sikkim Nursing Council .14Arunachal Pradesh Nursing Council .
15Jharkhand Nursing Council .16Telangana Nursing Council .
17Punjab Nursing Council .18Himachal Pradesh Nursing Council .
19Bihar Nursing Council .20Nagaland Nursing Council .
21MadhyaPradesh Nursing Council .22Delhi Nursing Council .
23Mizoram Nursing Council .24Chhattisgarh Nursing Council .
25Assam Nursing Council .26Goa Nursing Council .
27Manipur Nursing Council .28Meghalaya Nursing Council .
29UttarPradesh Nursing Council .30Jammu-Kashmir Nursing Council .

By Gnurse